Home > Uncategorized > Power Hungry: The Myths of “Green” Energy and the Real Fuels of the Future

Power Hungry: The Myths of “Green” Energy and the Real Fuels of the Future


This week, I’m diving into a book written by Austin-based author, Robert Bryce.

Of Bryce’s four books, I’ve decided to first dive into Power Hungry: The Myths of “Green” Energy and the Real Fuels of the Future. This choice was ultimately made when this book was the first to become available via the Austin Public Library system. The book arrived at my local branch yesterday.

I’m currently on page 24 – my goal is to finish the book this week, while still finishing all required reading for my summer school classes, writing a chapter of my thesis, and meeting all of my research goals. Fingers crossed.

What I’ve learned (more accurately, what I’ve been told – I haven’t looked at the footnotes to check into the calculations yet) so far:

  1. Bryce puts a lot of emphasis on quantitative analysis – the data. (Sweet!)
  2. Quantitative analysis shows that a “green” energy future isn’t feasible unless we’re willing to forgo the cheap energy that has afforded the United States many of its opportunities for growth and advancement.
  3. The best option for the U.S. is to first transition to natural gas (short-term) on the way to nuclear power as the main energy source for the country (TBD how the transportation sector fits in here – assume Bryce will discuss this later in the book).
  1. chrisdctex
    June 20, 2010 at 9:14 pm

    Ha. Bryce is your Hofmeister. I’m going to have to get this book, thanks for posting.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

