Home > Uncategorized > Global Energy Matters 1st Anniversary

Global Energy Matters 1st Anniversary


Today marks 1 year since I started Global Energy Matters. I would like to say “Thank You” to all of you who read my posts and those who take the time to comment on the stories that I present, and pass them along to colleagues and friends. Thanks also for the tweets and e-mails with your thoughts on these subjects.

Over the past year, I have published 163 posts (0.45 posts per day) about energy and the environment in our lives. The three most popular of my posts over the past year (listed in order of most hits) included:

1. Smart Refrigerators (8/6/2010)

2. Energy Storage – via Fulvalene Diruthenium (say what??) (10/26/2010)*

3. How Green is ACL – really? (10/6/2010)

4. South Texas – A Wealth of Natural Gas in Eagle Ford (1/4/2011)

5. 10 calories in – 1 calorie out (12/11/2010)

Apparently I write my best pieces in the winter.

Today, on the 1 year anniversary of the day that I started this blog, I would like to ask you for a few minutes of your time – I would ask you to take a minute to tell me a little bit about yourself and why you read my posts each day, or week, or month. If you would be willing to leave a comment here, that’s great. If you’d prefer to e-mail me (melissalott at gmail dot com), I would enjoy hearing from you.

As year 2 of Global Energy Matters begins, many changes and big movement are on the horizon in the energy and environment spheres. I look forward to discussing them with you all via this blog, twitter and e-mail.

Thanks again to you all for being part of the dialogue.

~Melissa

*The second highest number of hits last year actually went to my “info” page – but, as this page isn’t really a post, I excluded it from the list.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. March 3, 2011 at 11:52 pm

    Where’s the Like button?

  2. Jose A. Sanchez
    March 4, 2011 at 7:09 pm

    Hi, I am an electrical engineer from Spain. I usually take a look at your posts once a week. Why?, well…., because they are really interesting I think, at least for anyone interested about energy stuff. You make a kind of mixture between a newspaper, a magazine, and a research journal. I like that.
    Congratulations!.

    • March 6, 2011 at 11:36 am

      Thanks, Jose! I’m glad that you are following the site.

  3. Sarah
    March 13, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    I have you bookmarked. I like that your posts are factual and concise. Who has time to read long postings? I’m a mom of mom of two little boys and a graduate student in Environmental Science in Alaska.

  4. Peter white
    March 25, 2011 at 7:32 am

    Hi Melissa,

    I attended one of Dr. Webber’s Energy Policy & Technology short courses and entertained the idea of taking up a EER grad course, and in the process of consuming what I could online I found yours and David Wogan’s blog.

    I return when my rss reader instructs me to. On balance I find your blog trustworthy and without bias or scaremongering, which seems to appreciate in value as the noise quotient is ratcheted up on other parts of the web and political discourse.

    • March 25, 2011 at 4:53 pm

      Thanks for the comment, Peter. I’m glad that you enjoy reading my and David’s blog.

  5. October 7, 2011 at 8:33 am

    I bookmarked this blog a few months back and I just enjoy reading the content. I’m interested in energy full stop and it is always good to read what other people are seeing and saying. Keep it up, good stuff melissa and thanks.

  1. March 6, 2011 at 3:39 pm

Leave a Reply

